The Fox and the Little Prince


The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery is probably my most read book. I especially love the part about the fox because it describes how friendship develops, slowly but surely, never in a hurry:

“What must I do, to tame you?” asked the little prince. “You must be very patient,” replied the fox. “First you will sit down at a little distance from me, like that, in the grass. I shall look at you out of the corner of my eye, and you will say nothing. Words are the source of misunderstandings. But you will sit a little closer to me, every day…”

In our relationship with God, who takes the role of the fox and who takes that of the little prince? Here’s the scenario when Jesus as the fox and I was the little prince:

“What must I do, to tame you?” said I. “You must be very patient,” replied the Jesus. “First you will sit down at a little distance from me, like that, in the grass. I shall look at you out of the corner of my eye, and you will say nothing. Words are the source of misunderstandings. But you will sit a little closer to me, every day…”

You bet I didn’t take Jesus’ advice. I prayed when I think I will be disposed. I did most of the talking. And I was very impatient. I remember getting very impatient with God during prayer when He seems too distant and more bent to hide than to be present to me. I remember how it felt as I look at every face of others deep in prayer. I was green with envy at their intimacy with God.

Over the years, I learned to be patient. I learned to wait. Most importantly, I learned to heed Jesus’ advice to just sit and say nothing and sit a little closer everyday… until… one day, I heard Jesus asked me:

“What must I do, to tame you?” said Jesus.

A little startled by the question I heard myself saying:

“You must be very patient. First you will sit down at a little distance from me, like that, in the grass. I shall look at you out of the corner of my eye, and you will say nothing. Words are the source of misunderstandings. But you will sit a little closer to me, every day…”

He looked at me with smiling eyes, happy, for at last, I was ready for intimacy.

Friends have no need for words. All they need is to sit a little closer everyday.

The image used in this blog was from http://home.pacific.net.hk/~rebylee/text/prince/pics/21a.jpg

One thought on “The Fox and the Little Prince

  1. I was smiling while reading your sharing Lines. You got the right words to make smile. Basta you sound naughty at times, naughty and funny and yet down to earth truthful from corner to corner. Why do friends have no need for words? I don’t know where I got this line but just to share….. “when love is great, words are not necessary, for even in silence love is heard. “

Leave a Reply

